Miscellaneous Thoughts Post

Just a quick couple of thoughts:

I noticed that For Emmy‘s sales went up on Amazon. I wonder if that’s connected to my appearing in Little Miss Zombie’s 50 Kindle Horror Books Written by Women. It’s a great list, and I’m honored to be appearing on it with so many women I like and admire.

*

The Hollower is now down to about 20 copies; I can’t say when or if the trilogy will be appearing in paperback or digital, so if you want them, my suggestion is to get them now.

*

For those following the abhorrent recent actions and sad downward spiral of Dorchester Books, BK has some new information on his website.  It is most definitely worth reading, not just for Leisure and other Dorchester authors, but for all writers.  My advice: know the publisher.  Talk to the authors who work with them.  And also, make sure to work into your contract a reversion clause, if possible.  Three years, five years, in writing, whatever the terms — make sure you KNOW who gets what, and for how long,

*

I’m working on a new novel, as yet untitled (but it’s supernatural) and a novella which, in a change of pace for me, will not be supernatural.  So far, so good.  For inspiration, I have also been trying to catch up on my reading, starting with books and short stories I should have read long ago, interspersed with anthologies, at least, of today’s top horror fiction.  It’s really renewed my excitement of writing through a sense of nostalgia for a time when, essentially, I was just a fan.  I tend to think that never goes away, being a fan first and a practitioner second.  Being a fan makes you an avid reader, and makes that reading, which is as much a part of writing as inhaling is a part of breathing, an enjoyable thing and not work.  Writing is the work.  It’s freakin awesome work, it’s the best work on the planet, and it’s fun, but it is work.  It takes time and patience and persistence of learning.  But when you write something that makes you feel the same elation, maybe even the same nostalgia as when you read your old favorites — you write for that.  Always.

*

Part of my reading has been old TZ Magazine issues (BK thoughtfully completed my collection by buying me the entire run for Christmas one year, and I love them).  I enjoy reading the interviews (this issue had one with Robert Bloch) and the short stories, seeing the editors talk about Stephen King almost as if he’s the new kid on the block they’re all proud of, reading the affable and humorous tones in the book and movie reviews.  There’s a part of me that kind of wishes I could have had a chance at submitting to/getting published in this magazine, alongside these greats.  I wish I could have met people like Robert Bloch, Karl Edward Wagner, etc.  I guess I want to be ageless and timeless and have enjoyed the history of commercial horror fiction as much as the present and future.  What I do find funny about reading through these old magazines and anthologies is that there were the same complaints and dramas then as there are now; like the old saying says, as much as things change, they stay the same.  There’s something kind of comforting in that; I guess when you’re in the midst of such a revolutionary time — tech-wise, war-wise, medicine-wise, society-wise — it’s nice to know publishing has, as evidenced by editorials, always been on the brink of explosion/implosion/annihilation at the hands tentacles of rabid pygmy sharktoctopi.

*

Guess that’s all for now.  Go out and enjoy the beautiful day. 🙂

About Mary SanGiovanni

Author of the Hollower trilogy, Thrall, Chaos, For Emmy, Possessing Amy, The Fading Place, and more.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

